Skip to content

Healer questions

2009/11/08
tags: ,

I came across this list of healing questions over at Miss Medicina’s site, and it looked interesting enough. Now I’m supposed to tag another blog but seeing as I don’t regularly read any healing blogs (yet, this list might get me started), and I haven’t been tagged myself, I’m just going to post my answers:

  • What is the name, class, and spec of your primary healer?
    Tomkr, Holy Paladin
  • What is your primary group healing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans) I do a bit of casual raiding (mostly TOC 10 and Ony 10 and 25 at the moment) and run the daily heroic when I feel like it. I sometime DPS in 5 mans, but always heal in raids.
  • What is your favorite healing spell for your class and why?
    Beacon of Light, even though it’s not technically a healing spell. I love the idea that you can plan your healing with it, and then use your other abilities around it. I think proper use of Beacon is what defines a Paladin healer as much as nuke healing.
  • What healing spell do you use least for your class and why?
    Lay on Hands. Not just because it has such a long cooldown, but also because I never come across a use for it. Sometimes when stuff really gets out of hand I remember it and throw it out, which I guess is what it is for anyway.
  • What do you feel is the biggest strength of your healing class and why?
    Strategic healing. As a Paladin you plan out who you Beacon, who you Shield, and you stick with that strategy. Other than that you don’t have a lot of choice, you throw big heals, small heals, or instant heals and that’s it. Of course our strategy lends itself mostly to tank healing, which we do amazingly well, but there are other options.
  • What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your healing class and why?
    Group/AOE healing. We have none. I don’t consider this a problem balance-wise, but it is our weakness.
  • In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best healing assignment for you? Tank healing. For me this comes in two flavors. Either I heal one tank (mostly through Beacon) and spam heal the raid, or I focus on a tank and support-heal another one.
  • What healing class do you enjoy healing with most and why?
    For me a Druid is a nice partner, because they can even out raid damage much more easily, while I can pick up the big damage spikes.
  • What healing class do you enjoy healing with least and why?
    Priests are not my favourite healing partner, maybe because they are more rounded than us, while we outclass them in big single target heals. That said I’d run with any healer without problems.
  • What is your worst habit as a healer?
    Losing track of my assignment and just throwing heals around. I need to stick to my assigned target more.
  • What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while healing?
    People getting tailswiped (or get hit by other avoidable damage) twice in a row. Seriously, you didn’t notice being thrown into a cave of small dragons and are going to stand in exactly the same spot?
  • Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other healers for PvE healing?
    Paladins have very clear strengths and weaknesses, but we can heal anything we need to, as can other classes. I think they’re all pretty balanced.
  • What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a healer?
    I use recount to look at how my healing was for a fight: which spells did I use, how much overhealing did I do and with which spells, how much of my healing went to which target etc.
  • What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your healing class?
    That we can do nothing but spam one spell, either Flash of Light or Holy Light. I think a good Paladin does so much more, especially as we have the ability to save a fight that is about to go bad, which keeps us on our toes.
  • What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new healers of your class to learn?
    I think one of the difficulties for a new Holy Paladin is figuring out who to Beacon for a fight you don’t know well.
  • If someone were to try to evaluate your performance as a healer via recount, what sort of patterns would they see (i.e. lots of overhealing, low healing output, etc)?
    There’s definitely a bunch of overhealing, largely due to Beacon heals, which you have little control over. I try to keep it as low as possible though.
  • Haste or Crit and why?
    I’m a fan of haste. Our mana regeneration through crit was nerfed, and since then it is just not as interesting for me. I always had a soft spot for mp5 anyway, because it is more reliable than RNG based crit. Haste on the other hand makes me able to cast those Holy Lights faster, which just gives me better timing of my heals.
  • What healing class do you feel you understand least?
    Disc Priests definitely. Relying so much on shields would be weird for me.
  • What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in healing?
    Vuhdo is my big love for viewing and healing the raid, it is very configurable. Pally Power is great for easily figuring out who buffs what, especially in a PUG raid. Other than that the standards: DBM, Recount and Omen.
  • Do you strive primarily for balance between your healing stats, or do you stack some much higher than others, and why?
    I balance stats as much as I can, but Int makes me the happiest. Like I said I am quite an mp5 fan, since it becomes especially value on longer fights, when plain old Int just doesn’t cut it for me. Other than that I like haste as well as I said, although I feel that I’m fine where I am now (at about 400).
One Comment leave one →
  1. 2009/11/11 15:00

    ” I think proper use of Beacon is what defines a Paladin healer as much as nuke healing.”

    I think you’re probably right. Maybe before the buff to BoL this wasn’t quite as true, but now that it works even with overheals, it is just that much more powerful, and really put a spin on the idea of pallies being a one trick pony.

    thanks for responding! I added your answers to the list 🙂

Leave a Reply

