Skip to content

The dungeon tool

2009/11/11

After looking at the patch notes for too long, I figured I’d jump on the PTR myself. I copied over my paladin, but wanted to try something else to start off: a mage. And the first thing I wanted to test was the new dungeon tool, that automatically finds a dungeon group for you. How was that? I loved it. I used to have so much trouble finding a group as dps, but now I was matched up and ready to go in less than 5 minutes. Now it might be that the PTR has been attracting people who want to test the dungeon tool, but once it goes live you will be able to group with all the people from your battlegroup. So there should be plenty of people.
We’ll have to wait and see how the tool exactly works, since Blizzard is claiming it does some smart matching. For example the harder heroics (probably Trial of the Champions and the Icecrown 5-mans) should have a higher gear requirement. If tuned well this can be a great help. Of course you can hook up with friends and then pug the remaining spots, so you don’t have to go completely random. All in all it will make running a dungeon (or at least getting in one) quickly more accessible, which is a good thing.
Another thing that has me excited about this tool is running low-level instances. Now I have no idea how this will work out, but as it is now it is really hard to get a group for most of them in my experience. I would be thrilled if the dungeon tool would make it feasible again to level up a bit by running old world and Outland dungeons. I haven’t seen a lot of them very well, and it would sure break the chore of going through the same quests again on my alts. If every server in the battlegroup has only one guy looking for a run, I should be able to get going a lot more than I do now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

