Skip to content

Quel’Delar

2010/07/17
tags: ,

At one point during WotLK I spent some time saving up money. I thought it would be nice to sit on some gold, for when I wanted to start leveling another character, or get epic flying for one of my toons. But for a while that money just seemed to be sitting there. Thinking about the potential weapon upgrades for my Holy gear, and the little time I spend raiding nowadays I figured I should go for Quel’Delar. I had the gold, and didn’t feel like trying my luck in the dungeons, figuring if one did drop, I could just sell it and recoup the cost anyway.

Now if you are looking for a new weapon outside of raiding and have the gold lying around, I can really recommend dropping the gold for a Battered Hilt. The reason: the quest line. It is quite amazing, and definitely one of my favourites so far. One of the coolest aspects (and this might be a bit of a spoiler) is that you get to go to the Sunwell, which was previously only accessible as part of the last raid of BC. Since I barely managed to get to 70 before WotLK was released this was a lot of fun for me. Other than there is the fun laundry business in Dalaran.

The most awkward bit of the questline is the part where you have to go into Halls of Reflection, without actually doing the instance. I felt a bit bad about forcing a whole group to go through the motions just for my sword, while it is a tad hard to do it alone without just the right setup. Even though you can use Uther as a tank, as a melee class I found I was not able to do enough damage to get credit for the kill, while staying out of the whirlwind. In the end I asked a guildy to tank it for me while healing him, and it was a breeze.

The sword itself looks quite nice and has good stats as a healer sword. I have not really looked into it as a dps sword, but the stats seem to be ok for that as well.

Just make sure you do not pay too much for it: watch your auction house for a while to see the price range for a hilt. That, or just get lucky with a drop.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

